The medical marijuana treatment program in Maryland allows patients who meet the qualifying conditions to gain access to medical cannabis products. Patients must register with the MMCC to get approved for a medical marijuana card. Learn how to register and get your medical marijuana card. If you need more information, see our frequently asked questions regarding product, patient, dispensary, caregiver, veteran, and general information. If you have any further questions please send it to us at [email protected]
Is there a limit on the quantity of marijuana that I can purchase?
Yes, a patient is only allowed to purchase up to 120 grams of marijuana in a 30-day period.
Does Bloom carry different types of marijuana products?
Yes, we stock a large selection of marijuana products, including flower, oils, topicals, vape pens, tinctures, pre-rolls, and much more. Our knowledgeable staff can help you understand all the different products we offer and help you choose the best strain and product depending on your specific conditions and needs.
Does Bloom Medicinals sell marijuana accessories?
Yes, we stock papers, pipes, water pipes (bongs), vaporizers, grinders, storage devices and much more.
How much marijuana should a patient take?
The proper dosage depends on the needs of each patient and often varies. Our staff at Bloom Medicinals can help guide you, so that you may achieve your desired effect.
How is black market (street) marijuana different from medical marijuana?
Our medical marijuana is produced in licensed cultivation centers in Maryland. These facilities are carefully regulated by the state of Maryland and follow very strict guidelines to ensure that each product is safe for consumption. All products sold at Bloom have undergone lab testing to ensure quality, screening for microbiological or pesticide-related contaminants, accuracy in cannabinoid labeling, and non-presence of residual solvents.
How do I register to become a patient?
See our step by step instruction on how to get your medical marijuana card here. Fill the form at the top of the page and we’ll help you through the entire process.
How much does it cost to register with the MMCC?
There is no fee to register with the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commision. Only patients who wish to purchase the optional patient ID card will have to pay a fee of $50.
Can I bring a companion with me into the dispensary?
Only patients or caregivers with a valid state-issued medical marijuana registration card may enter the dispensary.
I hold a marijuana registration card in a state outside of Maryland. Can I visit Bloom to obtain medication?
No, only Maryland residents who have registered and been approved by the MMCC can purchase medical cannabis from our dispensary.
Is the Bloom Medicinals facility wheelchair accessible?
Yes, Bloom can help those with special mobility needs and our staff is more than willing to assist you upon your arrival. Our bathrooms are even designed for ADA compliance.
Which medical conditions qualify for medical marijuana?
Eligible patients must be diagnosed with one of the state approved conditions to be able to receive medical marijuana treatment in Maryland. See all the currently approved qualifying conditions here.
How are patients protected by the program?
Patients may not be arrested, prosecuted, or face any criminal or other penalties for engaging in medical marijuana use compliant under Maryland Medical Marijuana Laws. As a legal patient, you do not have to disclose that you possess medical marijuana or consent to a search.
I have one of the debilitating medical conditions, am I automatically a qualified patient?
No, you must still register with the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission with the required forms to be a registered patient.
Which medical providers can certify me for medical marijuana?
Only doctors and other medical providers registered with the MMCC can recommend or issue written certifications for medical marijuana.
Do I need a physical medical marijuana patient ID card?
No, you do not need to purchase a physical medical cannabis card, all you need is your patient ID number and a state issued ID. If you want to purchase a card it is available through the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commision for a fee of $50.
Can a minor register to get a medical marijuana card?
Yes. Minor patients under the age of 18 can register with the MMCC to be able to receive treatment through any of the opened Maryland-licensed dispensaries. Before a minor can complete the MMCC application they must first make sure they have their parents or legal guardians of age 21 or older complete the MMCC caregiver registration application. See our MMCC Caregiver Registration Guide.
Can non-Maryland residents get access to medical marijuana?
No, as of December 14, 2017, the MMCC has issued an administrative hold on out-of-town patient applicants until further notice.
Do you have a lounge area on the premises where I can consume my marijuana?
No, by state law patients are not allowed to consume marijuana on our premises
What forms of payment do you accept?
At this time we only accept cash payments
Is there an ATM near Bloom Medicinals?
Yes, there is an ATM inside our dispensary and we cover your transaction fee.
How can I learn more about offers and promotions?
Can I place an order for delivery?
At this time Bloom does not deliver, we are working to be able to introduce delivery to our patients and will announce once we are able to roll-out our delivery service.
Can I place an order for pick-up?
Yes, all pick-up orders can be placed via our website through our Online Ordering Page.
Does Bloom Medicinals ship products?
No, Bloom does not ship products
What makes Bloom Medicinals different from other dispensaries?
Compassionate and knowledgeable staff: Our patient care specialists are on site full-time to offer you the most relevant product information in a safe and comforting environment.
Personalized treatment plan: At no charge, we will develop and maintain a personalized treatment plan that keeps track of your medication and results.
Daily product specials: Be sure to check out our daily specials for the latest deals on product sales.
High-quality cannabis products: We have personal relationships with each of our growers and an in-depth understanding of their cultivation methods. Each product we carry has been hand-selected for its quality and effectiveness.
What is a caregiver?
A person who is at least 21 years of age, registered with the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission (MMCC), contains a valid MMCC caregiver ID card and able to buy and transport medical cannabis from a licensed Maryland dispensaries on behalf of his/her designated patient.
How many caregivers am I allowed to have?
Each patient is allowed to designate up to two people as caregivers.
Am I allowed to have a medical marijuana card and a concealed carry license?
Currently, due to federal law Maryland patients cannot legally purchase or possess firearms after registering as a medical marijuana patient.
Will I lose my VA benefits if I have a medical marijuana card?
No you will not. In May 2015, the US Senate voted to end the VA ban on medical marijuana.
Can a doctor working for the VA certify me for medical marijuana?
No, the VA is a federal agency. Marijuana is still illegal at a federal level so physicians associated with the VA cannot certify patients at this time.
How does a veteran qualify for a patient registry identification card?
A qualifying patient who is also a veteran and receives medical care and treatment at a VA hospital must be a Maryland resident, have a qualifying debilitating medical condition, provide a copy of official hospital medical records, provide a copy of his/her DD214 or equivalent certified document, and register with the MMCC.
Can I use medical marijuana anywhere in Maryland?
No, a patient may only use medical marijuana in a private residence but may travel to any location in the state of Maryland other than federal government property.
Am I protected under Maryland law if I’m visiting another state using medical marijuana?
No, the state of Maryland laws cannot authorize a medical marijuana patient to travel to other states, jurisdictions or countries with this medicine in your possession.
Can other medical conditions be added to the list?
More medical conditions can be approved by the state of Maryland but at this time there is no plan to add additional qualifying conditions.
How long does it take to receive an answer once I submit my forms to the program?
Currently, the wait for registration approval is 2-4 weeks.